Print this page | E-Mail this document

How does the Wassenaar Arrangement work?

The WA Participating States:

  • have agreed to maintain national export controls on listed items. These controls are implemented via national legislation.

  • are guided by agreed Best Practices, Guidelines or Elements.
  • have agreed to report on transfers and denials of specified controlled items to destinations outside the Arrangement.

  • exchange information on sensitive dual-use goods and technologies.

The Wassenaar Arrangement Control Lists

Munitions List

Contains 22 main entries on items designed for military use, including certain items within the categories such as (but not limited to):

  • Small Arms & Light Weapons (and related ammunition);

  • Tanks and other Military Armed Vehicles;

  • Combat Vessels (surface or underwater);

  • Armoured/Protective Equipment,

  • Aircraft & Unmanned Airborne Vehicles, Aero Engines & related equipment (for comprehensive details please refer to the ‘Munitions List’ on the Wassenaar Arrangement Website).
List of Dual-Use Goods and Technologies

General Technology and General Software Notes

Category 1 – Special Materials and Related Equipment

Category 2 – Material Processing

Category 3 – Electronics

Category 4 – Computers

Category 5 – Part 1 – Telecommunications

Category 5 – Part 2 – Information Security

Category 6 – Sensors and Lasers

Category 7 – Navigation and Avionics

Category 8 – Marine

Category 9 – Propulsion

Annex 1 – (Sensitive items)

Annex 2 – (Very sensitive items)

Scope of reporting

Arms transfers
  • Battle Tanks

  • Armoured Combat Vehicles

  • Large Calibre Artillery Systems

  • Military Aircraft / Unmanned Aerial Vehicles

  • Military and Attack Helicopters

  • Warships

  • Missiles or Missile Systems

  • Small Arms and Light Weapons, including MANPADS

Dual-Use items transfers/denials

See the Dual-use List
(and its Annex 1 (Sensitive List)
and Annex 2 (Very Sensitive List)

Print this page | E-Mail this document
Disclaimer |